Autorun Eater v1.0

Autorun Eater

Introducing to you Autorun Eater. Autorun Eater is NOT an anti-virus nor does it pretend to be one. Autorun Eater is meant to work side-by-side with your AV application.

As more and more malwares resort to ‘autorun.inf’ file tactics, there has been a need for such a tool, especially for new users. Of course there are other ways to avoid the ‘autorun.inf’ malware trap such as right-clicking-explore, but how many are actually aware of such a method.

Wouldn’t it be better if it was already deleted even before you access the infected drive?

What are some of the features of Autorun Eater?

1. Scan and remove suspicious ‘autorun.inf’ files found in the root directory of drives, A-Z, in real-time
2. Hotkey enabled to toggle scan
3. Start, Stop or Pause scan
4. Scan priority(normal/high)
5. Scan results are logged
6. Add and remove from startup entry

And most importantly, it’s free!

Screenshots:

1.0aesetup

Setup file

1.0traymenu

No fancy GUIs but it works!

If you would like to submit any suggestions or report any bug(s), please feel free to contact us.

[DOWNLOAD AUTORUN EATER v1.0]

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Autorun Eater v1.0”

  1. Dennis McCann Says:

    Hi, I have a huge worm virus problem on my desk top and hence installed your Autorun Eater software.
    In my haste, I probably didn’t read your instruction nor what your program actually does, properly.
    This is my question. Does or is your program supposed to scan/seek out worm viruses and destroy /treat them. Because it hasn’t done so. I have run an antivirus program which does “treat” them, so what am I doing wrong?
    BTW. I can run the anti virus program and it would “treat 20 pluss worms on a single disk. Ten minutes later I can rerun the program on the same disk and it would pick up another crazy mount of worms. I’m just about at my wits end.
    Regards,
    Dennis.

    Old McDonald: Hi Dennis. Autorun Eater doesn’t help to remove infections that are already there but rather, it helps to prevent infections. What I would suggest is downloading the free version of Malwarebytes Antimalware (http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free), updating it and scanning the whole computer. Autorun Eater can help to prevent future malware infections via removable storage devices like pendrives and portable hard disk drives. By the way, the latest version is 2.6. Hope this helps. If you have more to ask, please do feel free to reply.🙂

  2. Allen Says:

    Why do I always have to fix the Registry and the task manager? after I click them after a minute it goes back being abnormal

    Old McDonald: Your computer could be infected. Try updating your antimalware software and perform a complete system scan.

  3. phil green Says:

    Starting Autorun eater seems to produce no effects except when I monitor the Windows Task Manager Applications Tab a brief appearance of the executable file “SYS FADER” occurs (< 1 sec).

    Is this normal?

    Old McDonald: Hi what version of Autorun Eater are you using and what operating system is your computer running? The sysfader.exe process is a process related to Windows’ animation effects(fade in/out, tool tips, etc). If you’re not using the latest version, you can find it HERE.

    Make sure the older version is not running, then just install the newest version over the old version.

  4. Deepa Says:

    Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware is detecting billy.exe as a virus / malware and deleting the same.

    Old McDonald: Is it detecting Autorun Eater as a malware with the latest definitions?

  5. Angels77 Says:

    This little stroke of genuis from the masters of Autoeater saved my life. I got that nasty anti-virus soft spyware and nothing could remove it. I couldn’t even do a system restore as I had previously done to stabilise things. Autoeater totally fixed everything. It’s like a new computer now, everything is back to normal. The only things I noticed is that, while I can still copy/play/burn cdr discs, the drive will no longer regonise dvdr blank discs. Only dvdrs with data on them.

    Old McDonald: Thank you for the feedback.🙂

  6. wlx Says:

    Great software!
    Adding a simple password protection could be useful in multiuser enviroment.
    Thanks a lot!

    Old McDonald: Thank you for the suggestion. Have a great day!🙂

  7. david Says:

    Love the softeware but totallty bemused at the “farmyard” concept. Go pro.

    Old McDonald: I always like to inject a lil’ bit of humour into my work but alas, not everyone finds it funny.🙂

  8. BISWAJIT__Bethuadahari Says:

    it’s realy usefull. go for it guys…

    Old McDonald: Thank you for the compliments!🙂

  9. waleed Says:

    Thanks OldMcDonalds
    Great application indeed!

    __
    Best Regards
    Waleed Barakat
    Developer-Online Creator and programmer

    Old McDonald: You’re welcome!🙂

  10. putude Says:

    Thanks to OldMcDonalds to your great software. I really really need this software for my private laptop. The virus developer in my country always developing their viruses in same way, by autorun.inf and destroy the registry. So that, by this software my laptop is more secure from bad virus.

    thanks,
    putude

    Old McDonald: You’re welcome! We’re glad you found it useful.🙂

  11. Ricky Says:

    Is this XP/Vista/W7 only? I have downloaded every version…none of them work on windows 2000. Wont install….each gives a missing bin file error.

    (I use 2000 for my older games…they dont play well on XP and 2000 is DOS friendly)

    Just curious.

    Ricky

    Old McDonald: It may not be compatible on OS’es older than XP. I think I should update the list of OS it is compatible on. Sorry for the inconvenience.

    P/S: Did it state the name of the .bin file?

  12. jadawin Says:

    Thanks you. I had problem open my disk maybee month. I tought is instalation problem.
    You really saved my time. GREAT sotware and nice sound ;)!

    Old McDonald: You’re welcome and thank you for the compliments!🙂

  13. sen Says:

    thanks u guys,for providing this great thing. i used many s/ws for removing the bloody “autorun virus”,but used to fail always. at last i got to know about ur product…wow…great.ur product sloved all my problems regarding “autorun”.

    Old McDonald: You’re welcome. Great to hear that! Thank you for using Autorun Eater!🙂

  14. rajamoorthy Says:

    i am visited in softpedia to kill our system autorun viruses,

  15. Tasab mutasa Says:

    Hi Technik ,

    Really it is a nice utilities to kill the autorun , but I suggest you can make startup disk with this utility ,

    tks

    Eng. Tasab Mutasab +++

Leave a Reply

